old new guestbook dland GLINT

Untitled

GLINT


My precious: 10.14.04

Webster�s definition of �dating� is, in part, as follows:

A particular point or period of time at which something happened or existed, or is expected to happen.

The time during which something lasts; duration.

An appointment: a luncheon date with a client; a date with destiny.

An engagement to go out socially with another person, often out of romantic interest.

One's companion on such an outing.

An engagement for a performance: has four singing dates this month.


If you look at these various definitions, a common strand between them is the idea of time. What you do with it, how you choose to spend it, if you are going to plan to spend it in a particular way, with a particular person, if it�s already been spent.

Time.

It�s so easy to waste, it slips through my fingers like spare change, I barely notice when it passes me by. Once I saw a bumper sticker that said, �Time is just what we use to make sure everything doesn�t happen all at once.� A little chaos theory humor anyone? I remember that riddle in �The Hobbit,� in all truth from the record I had, when Bilbo Baggins mutters in desperation, �Time! I need more time,� and then realizes �time� is the answer to the riddle. He yells out the word which reverberates all around Gollum�s cave. And suddenly you realize how much it�s true, that we crave time, that we fight against it and for it, and how incredible it is, to find that time is really all you need when you have no other answer to the riddle some slimeball is forcing you to figure out.

* Bilbo�s Time Riddle:

This thing all things devours:
Birds, beasts, trees, flowers;
Gnaws iron, bites steel;
Grinds hard stones to meal;
Slays king, ruins town,
And beats high mountain down.

Oh and P.S: We could continue to draw this metaphor out: the slimeball is keeping you in the dark, throwing riddles at you, so you can get your RING from him, your magical gold ring. Ironically, it's with the ring that you become invisible. You can pick and choose and how to erase your own existence for select audiences. Alright. Let me stop. I hate all that LOTR shite anyhow.



reflect - reinvent [email protected]... what i used to think... what i hear... what i see... where i'd like to be...


the black apple... the girl who... sarah brown... thunderpie... evany... jenny b harris... posie... claude le monde... artsy... fartsy... jeff... random person in texas... another rachel... smitten kitchen... more of me... still more of me... even more of me...and yet still more of me...more of me but not for free...


site stats