old new guestbook dland GLINT

Untitled

GLINT


Linkhappy to Linklater 9.14.04

Well. Sometimes the lovely synchronicity of it all just won�t be ignored. Many thanks to this entirely random individual whose blog I happened upon. She wrote about a track by hip-hop outfit Eyedea and Abilities and nicely linked to their site. Nicely enough, she also noted that the Exhausted Love track was featured in Richard Linklater�s 1991 film Slacker, and links to a short review of the film.

This happens to be one of my favorite films ever and, sadly, I lost my copy of it to my last paramour. Although it�s one of those incredible creative outputs that I don�t consider a loss if it�s passed on to a good home. Something like that, like a Murakami novel, is always a gift. ANYway, so I love Slacker, and I am reading the little review and it lists Linklater�s influences in making the film, among them a Wim Wenders flick, Kings of the Road. Which I was just trying to remember the name of yesterday. Plus, this little piece references Nicholas Baker�s The Mezannine�sort of an overdone footnotey novelty novel�which I still have a soft spot for because it represents this very kind of thinking, where you constantly have an aside, a reference, an observation on an observation. Like with James Burke�s Connections. Remember that? (Don't lie. You've pulled a few hits and settled in with a fair amount of glee to watch his insane pogostick tours of history.)

So. Do you ever have days where all your thoughts daisy-chain with each other so nicely you feel giddy? Like you just want to pile all your randomly accumulated bits of knowledge together like a big leaf pile and dive into it? Kind of invigorating.


reflect - reinvent [email protected]... what i used to think... what i hear... what i see... where i'd like to be...


the black apple... the girl who... sarah brown... thunderpie... evany... jenny b harris... posie... claude le monde... artsy... fartsy... jeff... random person in texas... another rachel... smitten kitchen... more of me... still more of me... even more of me...and yet still more of me...more of me but not for free...


site stats